The Inheritance Trilogy

We rated this book:


Forgiveness, love, and regret: these three tropes are what you will find in a lot of modern day fantasy fiction, and that is the case with this omnibus edition of The Inheritance Trilogy. It starts off centuries after the end of the Gods’ War, when the Gods fought among themselves. After Bright Imtepas’s victory, he chains his brother and all who fought with him against the ruling family as slaves. Over time, the Gods in slavery come to hate their brother and come up with a plan to gain freedom by bringing back the soul of their dead sister. After that, the other two books follow a similar pattern, with the second book focusing on the fall of Bright Imtepas and his road to redemption, and the third book focusing on Sieh, the trickster, and the coming end of the Gods’ overall rule.

These books form what I call a “loose trilogy.” Even though they kind of work off of each other, that is not always the case; each one of them could stand alone, because characters whom are major players in one book only make a brief cameo in the others. This is for fans who like epic fantasy with magic and Gods.

Reviewed By:

Star Count 4/5
Format Trade
Page Count 1472 pages
Publisher Orbit
Publish Date 2014-Dec-09
ISBN 9780316334006 Buy this Book
Issue February 2015
Category Science Fiction & Fantasy


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Inheritance Trilogy”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.