Finding the Dragon Lady: The Mystery of Vietnam’s Madame Nhu

We rated this book:

$26.99


In the vein of Truman Capote, Demery humanizes the often demonized First Lady of Vietnam, Madame Nhu. As the second daughter in a society where sons are esteemed, Tran Thi Le Xuan held the lowest status in her family. Her fortuitous fate as foretold by the family astrologer failed to garner the slightest attention. She was expected to live as the thousands of women before her—a life of domestic simplicity. Yet, her life changed dramatically upon marrying Ngo Digh Nhu. Gradually drawn into the very political intrigues she sought to escape upon marriage, Madame Nhu soon catapulted into the limelight of the Diem regime. Thrust into exile after the assassination of her husband and brother-in-law, Madame Nhu never again set foot in her beloved Vietnam.

The infamous Dragon Lady proves an interesting figure. I wish more of Madame Nhu’s diary entries were divulged, thereby unearthing the vulnerable woman behind the dynamic political persona. However, the book reveals glimpses of a woman seeking to uncloak her invisibility to her parents, siblings, husband, and the world—she would not be ignored.


Reviewed By:

Author Monique Brinson Demery
Star Count 4/5
Format Hard
Page Count 280 pages
Publisher PublicAffairs
Publish Date 2013-Sep-24
ISBN 9781610392815
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue April 2014
Category Biographies & Memoirs
Share

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Finding the Dragon Lady: The Mystery of Vietnam’s Madame Nhu”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.