Collected Poems

We rated this book:


Mark Strand, winner of a Pulitzer Prize and former Poet Laureate of the United States, has greatly influenced the face of poetry with over fifty years of published works to his name. Now many of his works are brought together in one rather massive, rich volume. The works run the gamut—some lyrical and quietly beautiful, some dark and witty, some rhymed, most not, some dense prose poems. The variety is quite impressive. These poems are awash with memories of childhood, of young love, of loss; they swirl with dreamscapes choked with fears and darkness. The works represent four published books of Strand’s work: One Eye Open (1964), The Continuous Life (1990), Blizzard of One (1998) which won the Pulitzer Prize, and Almost Invisible (2012). While there have been other published works, these represent Strand well and give readers a true overview of the depth and breadth of his work over time. This collection is not to be missed, not only by those already familiar with and appreciative of Strand’s work, but also for those who are students of poetry of the modern era. This will be a welcome addition to any poetry lover’s library.

Reviewed By:

Star Count 5/5
Format Hard
Page Count 544 pages
Publisher Knopf
Publish Date 2014-Sep-30
ISBN 9780385352512 Buy this Book
Issue January 2015
Category Poetry & Short Stories


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Collected Poems”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.