Murder, Magic, and What We Wore

We rated this book:

$17.99


Miss Annis Wentworth has always suspected her father was a spy for England, so when he dies under mysterious circumstances, she takes it upon herself to do some spy work herself to find the murderer. However, her sudden lack of financial support means she has to balance her sleuthing with her new (but completely secret) job as a glamour modiste—a fashionable dressmaker who can imbue her clothes with magic.

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore is a fun Regency romp that doesn’t take itself too seriously, even as it tackles deadly matters like murders and conspiracies to free Napoleon from his exile on St. Helena. Indeed, much of the book is actually focused on happier affairs, such as flirting, fashion, and friendship, and protagonist Annis herself lightens the tone with her flippantly conversational narration.

Fans of Cindy Anstey’s Love, Lies, and Spies and Patrice Kindl’s Keeping the Castle will enjoy this creative historical fiction that pits a feisty heroine against financial misfortunes, French sympathizers, and fashion disasters.


Reviewed By:

Author Kelly Jones
Star Count 3.5/5
Format Hard
Page Count 304 pages
Publisher Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publish Date 2017-Sep-19
ISBN 9780553535204
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue December 2017
Category Young Adult
Share

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Murder, Magic, and What We Wore”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.