The House of Always (A Chorus of Dragons, 4)

We rated this book:


Jenn Lyons’ The House of Always is the fourth book in the Chorus of Dragons series. Khirin, who is now trapped with Vol Karoth, must stand and face his wounded half if he, and the world itself, is going to survive. In an attempt to help Khirin, Senera reunites a group of friends and foes alike at the lighthouse at Shadrag Gor, a place where time flows differently.

This book is told mainly via memories of events leading up to the group’s impromptu arrival at the lighthouse. Vol Karoth starts to pluck those memories from unwilling participants in an attempt to show Khirin that humanity is not to be trusted. Khirin figures out how to steal memories too, and he then tries to convince Vol Karoth of the opposite truth.

Whether intentional or not, The House of Always is a lesson in learning to face one’s own darkest truths, to dance with one’s shadow. Khirin and Vol Karoth both have lessons to learn and painful memories to confront. They need to be reintegrated, with balance being the ideal result.

Highly recommended!

Star Count 5/5
Format Hard
Page Count 544 pages
Publisher Tor Books
Publish Date 11-May-2021
ISBN 9781250175670 Buy this Book
Issue August 2021
Category Science Fiction & Fantasy