Shipwrecked on a Traffic Island: And Other Previously Untranslated Gems

We rated this book:

$24.95


Translated into English for the first time, this collection of writings by Sidonie-Gabriel Colette (1873-1954), span the course of her career as a novelist, dancer, actor, playwright, essayist, journalist, advice columnist, radio star, and owner of a beauty salon and makeup business. Best remembered for her famous novel Gigi; which was later adapted into the play that launched Audrey Hepburn’s career, and the Academy Award winning movie, Colette’s writings were known for their progressively honest and open portrayal of sex and relationships in the late nineteenth to mid-twentieth century.

Zack Rogow and Reneé Morel provide an exquisite translation that maintains Colette’s delightfully effusive prose, and is certain to have readers envisioning the France she knew and loved. A fascinating glimpse into Colette’s opinions and impressions of theater, fashion, makeup, relationships, friends, pets, the World Wars, children’s literature, domestic abuse, current events, and wine. Fans of Marcel Proust and Maurice Chevalier are certain to enjoy their memoirs, which provide a glimpse of the men beneath their public images. This is an excellent opportunity for English readers to familiarize themselves with a more complete body of Colette’s progressive works.


Reviewed By:

Author Colette, Zack Rogow, Translator, Renee Morel, Translator
Star Count 4.5/5
Format Hard
Page Count 208 pages
Publisher Excelsior Editions/State University of New York
Publish Date 2014-Nov-01
ISBN 9781438454436
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue November 2014
Category Modern Literature
Share

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Shipwrecked on a Traffic Island: And Other Previously Untranslated Gems”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.