Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes

We rated this book:

$26.00


High school drama isn’t just for the students at Liston Heights. English teacher Isobel Johnson has devoted her professional life to pushing boundaries and awakening social consciousness in her privileged students despite most of the parents opposing her progressive lessons. She receives an anonymous voicemail accusing her of pushing a liberal agenda and threatening her career if she does not change her curriculum. In response, Isobel pushes further, ignoring requests from her boss and colleagues to take a step back. Soon she finds herself the focus of a smear campaign and on the verge of losing her position.

Julia Abbott is an overinvolved parent obsessed with getting her son a role in the play. Her dedication goes too far when Julia accidentally punches another theater student. The incident is caught on tape and goes viral. Julia finds herself ostracized from the theater department, the other school moms, and her family. When her daughter Tracy announces she never wants to have children after one of Isobel’s English lessons, Julia feels her life spinning out of control and decides to do some digging into Isobel’s past to discredit the teacher and win back her daughter and the community’s affection.

When a secret Liston Heights High gossip site posts damning stories on Isobel and Julia, they must join forces to take the site down before it ruins both their lives. This novel will keep you on the seat of your pants and is perfect for fans of Where’d You Go Bernadette and Big Little Lies.


Reviewed By:

Author Kathleen West
Star Count 4/5
Format Hard
Page Count 384 pages
Publisher Berkley
Publish Date 2020-02-04
ISBN 9780593098400
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue February 2020
Category Popular Fiction
Share

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.