Crow’s Rest: Faerie Crossed Book 1

We rated this book:


Avery is ready to begin her summer with her Uncle Tam. Ready to see her longtime crush and have a summer romance. But everything crashes around her when she discovers Daniel is in a coma. When Daniel’s dog, Boggin, starts acting strangely, she takes a crazy chance by bringing him to the hospital. Everyone thinks it’s a coincidence Daniel woke up, but Avery believes different. Only one catch: Daniel isn’t the same afterward. No one else seems to notice the change. She dives into research about the fae, convinced that Daniel is someone else, but what she discovers is the last thing she expected.

Avery is a delightful hero who’s spunky, loyal, stubborn, and determined. She sees what other people don’t and won’t stop until she finds the truth. The story focuses on a small group of characters, each one well-defined, whose actions drive the plot forward, even the lovable dog next door has a part to play. Avery has a complicated romance throughout, which in a way is a love triangle, that gives the story charm. Angelica R. Jackson plays with the usual mythology of fae and the idea of changelings instead taking on body swapping, possession-like twists that would give the story a ghostly tone. The story has a timeless quality about it, mixed with a connection to history, mythology, and fairy tales, and it includes themes of magic, romance, friendship, and family. Jackson has delightful and often flirty humor woven into a story of courage, adventure, love, secrets, and strength.

Crow’s Rest is the first book in Faerie Crossed series.

Reviewed By:

Star Count 4/5
Format eBook
Page Count 364 pages
Publisher Crow & Pitcher Press
Publish Date 2018-May-22
ISBN 9780998721422 Buy this Book
Issue September 2018
Category Young Adult


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Crow’s Rest: Faerie Crossed Book 1”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.