After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse

We rated this book:


As a longtime fan of the world of Sookie Stackhouse, I was shocked when I heard that Dead Ever After would be the final installment of the delightful Southern Vampire Series. I never expected – or wanted – it to end. While I greatly enjoyed that last novel, it wasn’t enough. I’d spent so much time with these characters; I wanted to know what happened to them, how their lives turned out.

Luckily, I was not alone in this desire, and Charlaine Harris heard her fans’ cries. After Dead offers an alphabetical list of characters and a brief summary of their lives. It is straightforward, simple, and brilliant. I wish that every series could end with a book like this. It offers closure and a sense of satisfaction. True to the series, not everyone gets a happy ending, but everyone gets an ending that feels right, even those whose stories are left vague. The book also hints at a possible spin-off, suggesting of a certain person, “We may hear more about the rest of his life.” Accompanying the brief stories are delightful illustrations in the style of the books’ covers.

This whole book is an absolute delight. It exists solely to please the fans, and it is extremely successful.

Reviewed By:

Star Count 5/5
Format Hard
Page Count 208 pages
Publisher Ace
Publish Date 2013-Oct-29
ISBN 9780425269510 Buy this Book
Issue April 2014
Category Science Fiction & Fantasy


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.