Categories
signup-book-buzz-logo-white-300w
Follow us!

Founded in September 2008 by Heidi Komlofske and Ross Rojek, the first publication — Sacramento Book Review (SBR) — was born. We started fast and furious out of the gate, producing a 32-page monthly printed book review publication that covered more than 150 books in over 40 different categories.

SBR was so well received that after hearing so many comments about why the SF Bay Area wasn’t getting copies, we launched San Francisco Book Review (SFBR) exactly a year later in September 2009.

Each publication was completely unique to the other, featuring different book reviews and different articles.

Shortly after launching SFBR, we began Audible Authors, which hosts 30-minute author podcast interviews.

In December 2010, we licensed the book review publication concept to Portland Book Review, which is going gang-busters in the Portland area.

In July 2011, we licensed a single-use book review publication (called Library Book Review) to Publish On Demand Global, who used it for the annual American Library Conference. The Library Book Review concept will be promoted to various libraries around the country through a unique author promotional concept. If you’d like more information on being a part of this, email us.

In September 2011, we licensed the book review publication to our first library system — Tulsa, OK. Tulsa Book Review  is a monthly publication distributed in the Tulsa libraries, as well as coffee shops, and local gathering places.

In December 2012, we became the first, and only, U.S.-based book review publication in Apple Newsstand. San Francisco Book Review is also available for Android tablets, Kindle Fire, and PDF. Visit our Subscription page.

In January 2014, we discontinued producing Sacramento Book Review, instead, choosing to focus our efforts on San Francisco Book Review.

In February 2014, we launched Kids’ Book Review as its own magazine, publishing bi-monthly.

In September 2014, we licensed to San Diego Book Review.

We typically receive about 300 books a week for review. With a staff of around 120 active reviewers, we do our best to review everything that is sent to us, but that’s not always possible. READ ABOUT our review policy and what we can offer you by way of getting your book reviewed.

 

How to Get A Hold of Us

1722 J Street, Suite 9
Sacramento, CA 95811

Call Us:
855-741-8810

Email Us:
General Information: info@1776productions.com
Review/Book Questions: reviews@citybookreview.com
Editor-in-Chief: ross@1776productions.com
Publication layout/website: heidi.@1776productions.com

Search

ADVERTISEMENT

Ruins of Stone Hill

ADVERTISEMENT

Favors and Lies

ADVERTISEMENT

A Passing Curse

BAY AREA AUTHOR EVENTS

November 28, 2014
Libby O'Connell - The American Plate
Starts: 12:00 pm
Ends: November 28, 2014 - 1:00 pm
Location: 1 Ferry Building, San Francisco
November 29, 2014
Family Day - Kat Beyer, Kathryn Otoshi, Kathryn Gibbs Davis, & More
Starts: 10:00 am
Ends: November 29, 2014 - 4:00 pm
Location: Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd, Corte Madera
Market to Table: Cooking Demonstrations by Cookbook Authors
Starts: 10:30 am
Ends: November 29, 2014 - 12:30 pm
Location: Book Passage at the Ferry Building, 1 Ferry Building, San Francisco
Description: On Saturday mornings, chefs and cookbook authors lead free cooking demonstrations using seasonal ingredients from the Farmers Market. Join them in the CUESA kitchen (North Arcade) for tips, recipes, and a sample. Book Passage will be there with the books.
Christina Stevens - Love: The Saint and the Seeker
Starts: 1:00 pm
Ends: November 29, 2014 - 2:00 pm
Location: Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd, Corte Madera
Evan Morgan Willis - Thorn
Starts: 1:00 pm
Ends: November 29, 2014 - 2:00 pm
Location: 1 Ferry Building, San Francisco
November 30, 2014
Sunday Morning Storytime with Christopher Smith
Starts: 11:00 am
Ends: November 30, 2014 - 12:00 pm
Location: Author Appearance - , “” Book Passage - 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera
Description: Sunday Morning Storytime with Christopher Smith at Book Passage, Corte Madera
Starting September 12!
Sundays • 11:00 am • Free
Summer is over and Christopher is back! Singer-songwriter Christopher Smith has been writing music and performing in the Bay Area for over 20 years. Smith writes well-crafted story songs that aim for the heart. Children of all ages—and adults—love him!

These events are free and take place at Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, unless otherwise noted. For information or to reserve autographed books, call 415-927-0960 or go to http://www.bookpassage.com.
December 1, 2014
Left Coast Writers Literary Salon
Starts: 7:00 pm
Ends: December 1, 2014 - 9:00 pm
Location: Book Passage - 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera
Description: Left Coast Writers®
A Literary Salon Led by Linda Watanabe McFerrin
1st Monday each month • 7:00-9:00 pm • $120 per year
Left Coast Writers meetings provide literary connections, support, counsel, readings, writing tips, literary chat, unabashed networking, and great fun. Many local authors are active members of this group. Meetings feature presentations by Bay Area literary figures. In addition, LCW hosts a variety of other activities to launch the books of members, to explore publishing
alternatives, and to network with others in the industry.

ADVERTISEMENT

Brainwashed

ADVERTISEMENT

Rush of Shadows