Categories
signup-book-buzz-logo-white-300w
Pick yer poison

Founded in September 2008 by Heidi Komlofske and Ross Rojek, the first publication — Sacramento Book Review (SBR) — was born. We started fast and furious out of the gate, producing a 32-page monthly printed book review publication that covered more than 150 books in over 40 different categories.

SBR was so well received that after hearing so many comments about why the SF Bay Area wasn’t getting copies, we launched San Francisco Book Review (SFBR) exactly a year later in September 2009.

Each publication was completely unique to the other, featuring different book reviews and different articles.

Shortly after launching SFBR, we began Audible Authors, which hosts 30-minute author podcast interviews.

In December 2010, we licensed the book review publication concept to Portland Book Review, which is going gang-busters in the Portland area.

In July 2011, we licensed a single-use book review publication (called Library Book Review) to Publish On Demand Global, who used it for the annual American Library Conference. The Library Book Review concept will be promoted to various libraries around the country through a unique author promotional concept. If you’d like more information on being a part of this, email us.

In September 2011, we licensed the book review publication to our first library system — Tulsa, OK. Tulsa Book Review  is a monthly publication distributed in the Tulsa libraries, as well as coffee shops, and local gathering places.

In December 2012, we became the first, and only, U.S.-based book review publication in Apple Newsstand. San Francisco Book Review is also available for Android tablets, Kindle Fire, and PDF. Visit our Subscription page.

In January 2014, we discontinued producing Sacramento Book Review, instead, choosing to focus our efforts on San Francisco Book Review.

In February 2014, we launched Kids’ Book Review as its own magazine, publishing bi-monthly.

We typically receive about 300 books a week for review. With a staff of around 120 active reviewers, we do our best to review everything that is sent to us, but that’s not always possible. READ ABOUT our review policy and what we can offer you by way of getting your book reviewed.

 

How to Get A Hold of Us

1722 J Street, Suite 9
Sacramento, CA 95811

Call Us:
855-741-8810

Email Us:
General Information: info@1776productions.com
Review/Book Questions: reviews@citybookreview.com
Editor-in-Chief: ross@1776productions.com
Publication layout/website: heidi.@1776productions.com

Search

RSS Feed

Book Review Magazines

Advertisement

Advertisement

Our Licensees

Upcoming SF Author Events

  • September 30, 2014
    • Karen Morgan - The Art of Gluten-Free
      Starts: 6:30 pm
      Ends: September 30, 2014 - 7:30 pm
      Location: Omnivore Books: 3885a Cesar Chaves St, San Francisco
    • Rebecca Alexander - Not Fade Away
      Starts: 7:00 pm
      Ends: September 30, 2014 - 8:00 pm
      Location: Books Inc, Berkeley; 1760 4th St, Berkely, 94710
    • Paul Williams & Tracey Jackson - Gratitude & Trust
      Starts: 7:00 pm
      Ends: September 30, 2014 - 8:00 pm
      Location: Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd, Corte Madera
    • Derek McCulloch - Displaced Persons
      Starts: 7:00 pm
      Ends: September 30, 2014 - 8:00 pm
      Location: Green Apple Books, 2nd floor: 506 Clement St, San Francisco
    • David Bezmozgis - The Betrayers
      Starts: 7:00 pm
      Ends: September 30, 2014 - 8:00 pm
      Location: JCCSF: 3200 California St, San Francisco
    • City Arts & Letters - Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche & Dave Eggers
      Starts: 7:30 pm
      Ends: September 30, 2014 - 8:30 pm
      Location: Nourse Theater: 275 Hayes St, San Francisco
    • Chris Guillebeau - The Happiness of Pursuit
      Starts: 7:30 pm
      Ends: September 30, 2014 - 8:30 pm
      Location: The Booksmith: 1644 Haight St, San Francisco
  • October 4, 2014
    • Market to Table: Cooking Demonstrations by Cookbook Authors
      Starts: 10:30 am
      Ends: October 4, 2014 - 12:30 pm
      Location: Book Passage at the Ferry Building, 1 Ferry Building, San Francisco
      Description: On Saturday mornings, chefs and cookbook authors lead free cooking demonstrations using seasonal ingredients from the Farmers Market. Join them in the CUESA kitchen (North Arcade) for tips, recipes, and a sample. Book Passage will be there with the books.
  • October 5, 2014
    • Sunday Morning Storytime with Christopher Smith
      Starts: 11:00 am
      Ends: October 5, 2014 - 12:00 pm
      Location: Author Appearance - , “” Book Passage - 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera
      Description: Sunday Morning Storytime with Christopher Smith at Book Passage, Corte Madera
      Starting September 12!
      Sundays • 11:00 am • Free
      Summer is over and Christopher is back! Singer-songwriter Christopher Smith has been writing music and performing in the Bay Area for over 20 years. Smith writes well-crafted story songs that aim for the heart. Children of all ages—and adults—love him!

      These events are free and take place at Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, unless otherwise noted. For information or to reserve autographed books, call 415-927-0960 or go to http://www.bookpassage.com.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Author Recommendation